Write a Blog >>
ICER 2020
Sat 8 - Thu 13 August 2020
Tue 11 Aug 2020 13:30 - 14:00 at Zoom Webinar - Day 2 Opening Chair(s): Miranda Parker, Jacqui Whalley

After a brief welcome and announcements from the chairs, we’ll have a brief series of speakers who applied to the Lightning Talks track (not including the doctoral consortium students, who speak on Day 3):

  1. How to study reading strategies of expert programmers approaching unexpected changes in a familiar pseudocode. Natalia Chitalkina (University of Turku)
  2. Designing a Computational Thinking course for Arts and Humanities’ Students. Santiago Ojeda Ramírez (Universidad de los Andes) and Carola Hernández Hernández (Universidad de los Andes).
  3. MatchingRef: Matching variable names in a reference page to help introductory CS students fix compiler errors. Thuc Nhi Le (Lafayette College), Shokhzodbek Saidov (Lafayette College), and Justin Smith (Lafayette College)
  4. Mapping Empathy in the Computer Science classroom. Lariza de Oliveira (University of São Paulo and University Center Barão de Mauá.
  5. First Bytes: Preparing K-12 Educators for CS Inclusion. Melissa Stange (Lord Fairfax Community College).
  6. Toward an inventory of plans and patterns, and their use to foster strategic knowledge in programming novices. Umberto Costantini (Università degli Studi di Milano), Violetta Lonati (Università degli Studi di Milano), Anna Morpurgo (Università degli Studi di Milano).

Tue 11 Aug
Times are displayed in time zone: Pacific Time (US & Canada) change

13:30 - 14:00: Day 2 OpeningLightning Talks and Posters at Zoom Webinar
Chair(s): Miranda ParkerUniversity of California, Irvine, Jacqui WhalleyAuckland University of Technology
13:30 - 14:00
Day opening
Day 2 Welcome + Lightning Talks
Lightning Talks and Posters
Natalia ChitalkinaUniversity of Turku, Santiago Ojeda RamírezUniversidad de los Andes, Carola HernándezUniversidad de los Andes, Thuc Nhi LeLafayette College, Shokhzodbek SaidovLafayette College, Justin SmithLafayette College, Lariza de OliveiraUniversity of São Paulo and University Center Barão de Mauá, Melissa StangeLord Fairfax Community College, Umberto CostantiniUniversità degli Studi di Milano, Violetta LonatiUniversity of Milan, Anna MorpurgoUniversità degli Studi di Milano, C: Miranda ParkerUniversity of California, Irvine, C: Jacqui WhalleyAuckland University of Technology